Hepatitis B Compliance Order

I, (health director name), Health Director, (county name) County Health Department, pursuant to the
authority vested in me by North Carolina General Statute (GS) 130A-144, issue this compliance order to
you, (patient name). After an investigation, | have determined you have tested positive for Hepatitis B
infection and have been properly informed and counseled concerning the control measures required by
North Carolina Administrative Code to prevent the spread of hepatitis B infection. | also have reason to
suspect you have not been following the control measure(s) requiring you to (detail control measures).
These behaviors constitute violation of the North Carolina Communicable disease law. Therefore, you
are ordered to comply with the following control measures required by North Carolina General Statutes
130A-144 and Administrative Code 10ANCAC 41A .0203:
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refrain from sexual intercourse unless condoms are used, except when the partner is known to
be infected with or immune to hepatitis B;

do not share needles or syringes;

do not donate or sell blood, plasma, platelets, other blood products, semen, ova, tissues, organs
or breast milk;

identify to the local health director all sexual and injecting partners since the date of infection;
or, if the time of initial infection is unknown, identify sexual or injecting partners during the
previous six months;

for the duration of the infection, notify future sexual partners of the infection and refer them to
their attending physician or the local health department for control measures; and for the
duration of the infection, notify the local health director of all new sexual partners;

identify to the local health director all current household contacts;

obtain serologic testing six months after diagnosis to determine if you are a chronic carrier;

all pregnant women shall be tested for hepatitis B infection unless known to be infected and
reported in accordance with 10A NCAC 41A .0101 if positive for hepatitis B infection;

infants born to hepatitis B positive mothers shall be given hepatitis B vaccine and hepatitis B
immune globulin (HBIG) within 12 hours of birth or as soon as the infant is stabilized;

infants born to mothers whose hepatitis B status is unknown shall be given hepatitis B vaccine
within 12 hours of birth and the mother tested. If the mother’s test is found to be positive, the
infant shall be given hepatitis B immune globulin as soon as possible and no later than seven
days after birth;

when an acutely infected person is a primary caregiver of a susceptible infant less than 12
months of age, the infant shall receive an appropriate dose of hepatitis Bimmune globulin and
hepatitis B vaccination in accordance with current CDC guidelines;

the infant shall be tested for the presence of hepatitis B surface antigen and hepatitis B surface
antibodies within three to nine months after the last dose of the regular series of vaccine; if
required because of failure to develop immunity after the regular series, additional doses shall
be given in accordance with the current CDC guidelines.
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If you fail to strictly comply with this compliance order, you may be subject to persecution for a
misdemeanor offense pursuant to G.S. 130A-25. A conviction for violation of G.S. 130A-25 can include
punishment of up to two years imprisonment and/or an unlimited fine. The Health Department
continues to be available to provide assistance and counseling to you concerning your hepatitis B
infection and compliance with this order.

Communicable Disease Nurse Date

Health Director Date
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